I’m a ‘Walker

This post was first published on my Tumblr on Nov 11, 2012, and is now updated with my experiences since then.

On most of my school days, I walk to and from Temasek Polytechnic and my home. It’s a 40 minute walk, 30 minutes if I have fast music. I’m not too sure how far it is in terms of distance, but its from Bedok South to Temasek Polytechnic, so work it out.

Some people think I’m crazy for walking so far and for so long, but let’s face it, everything is crazy if it’s outside the norm and you haven’t done it before. Just because I forge my own path doesn’t mean I’m crazy.

You laugh at me because I’m different. I laugh at you because you’re all the same.

Broken down into pros and cons, I’ll show you why I like to walk so much.

PRO – I get daily exercise. Brisk walking may not be much, but I take any chance I get to work off fat and increase my endurance level. The weight of my laptop in my bag helps burn fat too. And why do I exercise? So that I look good naked. That’s pretty good motivation.

PRO – Everyday I get 1hr to 1hr 20mins of reflection time, which is good for thinking about oh-god-why moments, mulling over big decisions, and getting hit by inspiration and epiphanies. These are my “Sharpen the Saw” moments. If I do a little bit everyday, it’s less likely I’ll burnout from stress.

PRO – I save transport money. Each bus ride costs $0.71 per trip. Two trips a day, five days a week saves me $7.10/week, or $28.40/month, good enough to pay for a student plan. Walking = free mobile.

PRO – I’m in control of my own time. I don’t have to plan to take a bus, so I’m not bound to the bus schedule. Also, planning to walk gives me lots of buffer time. If something makes me later than usual (e.g. I wake up late), I still have the option to take the bus.

CON – It’s tiring. Well yeah, after exercise most people are tired. I think the distance is pretty nice for a warm up or cool down too. Is this really a con?

CON – Takes up time? I guess a lot more could be done with the 1hr a day, but then a lot of people take long trips to work or school everyday too. Not really a con as well, comparatively.

So, is it really crazy to walk everyday? I don’t think so.

I’m a ‘Walker.

-Jace

So tell me what you think what you really really think

